In the southern suburb of ancient and everlasting young Lutsk there is a University campus of LNTU. Generations of young people have graduated from it getting a start in life here.

Everything in the world has its sources and history. The same is with Lutsk National Technical University (LSTU), the history of which goes back as far as 1966, when according to the decision of the former Ministry for higher and secondary specialized education of the URSR the branch of General Engineering Faculty of Kyiv Road-transport Institute was founded in Lutsk.

The initiators of the idea were Mykola Vasilyevich Romaniuk, the former director of the Lutsk Car Works and Yevhen Petrovitch Veryzhenko, Rector of Kyiv Road-transport Institute.

Within two years the branch was reorganized into Lutsk General Engineering Faculty of KRTI. In 1971 the faculty was subordinated to Ukrainian Institute of Water Transport Engineers.

After a while according to the decision of Council of Ministers the faculty was subordinated to Lviv Polytechnic Institute and four years later it was reorganized into the Lutsk Branch of Lviv Polytechnic Institute with an affiliate at the town of Novovolynsk.

The first director of the branch was I.M.Khorolsky and later on V.V.Bozhydarnik. The Branch had two faculties: evening and general engineering (deans I.I.Orekhovsky and V.V.Bozhydarnik), and four departments. Soon after a full-time education was introduced with establishing the civil engineering faculty.

On the basis of the department of general subjects the following departments were formed: higher mathematics, physics and electrical engineering and a year later, the department of machine building. The first graduation of mechanical engineers took place in 1971 and the first civil engineers graduated in 1981.

The structure of the branch was being improved and modified. The departments of General Engineering Subjects and Engineering Drawing were formed. The main feature of the branch reorganization made in 1985 was redistribution of departments according to new faculties.

A number of new departments was formed on the basis of the faculties: General Subjects, Technology of Machine Building and Engineering departments on the basis of Technological Faculty; Technical Sciences , Technical Mechanics and Agricultural Machine Building departments – on the basis of Machine Building Faculty and Department of Higher Mathematics – on the basis of Evening Faculty.

So, step by step, the branch was approaching to its memorable day – April 1, 1991. It was that day when the Council of Ministers of the URSR passed a resolution Т87 on the formation of Lutsk Industrial Institute on the basis of Lutsk Branch of Lviv Polytecnical Institute. It was a great dream that had come true in sovereign Ukraine, in the time of social transformations taking place in the country.

Our state was changing and so were modern views concerning culture and education. They attained democratic character aimed at world standards, models and methods. There were a lot of difficulties, but in spite of them, Lutsk Industrial Institute tried to develop and kept pace with the times. Reorganization of the institution took place. The scientific council was founded and four faculties: Mechanical Engineering, Machine Building, Evening and Correspondence Study were formed.

The institute always met the requirements of Ukrainian national economy and the economy of Volyn. Its main task was to train qualified specialists.

In October, 1991 the postgraduate courses were established. The institute attained the right to confer the scientific degree of Candidate of Technical Science. There were two specialized academic councils at the university headed by professors Y.Bobro and H.Khailis.

After a while the institute began to train specialists with the qualification degrees of Bachelor, Specialist and Master. New modern theoretical and applied subjects were introduced into curricula and programs. Reforming of the institution structure lasted at the institute. Faculty of Economics and departments of Civil Engineering, Ecology and Labour Safety were formed. Two more departments: Company Management, Accounting and Auditing appeared. Due to further reorganization Instrument Making, Machine-Tools, Design and Engineering Drawing departments were organized.